How I Choose My Books // Tag

Hello to you all! 💖

I would love to say: I choose all books!! THE END. But nope. It’s not really how it goes … Since there are so many books to read and so little time, one has to be picky! I saw this tag on Thrice Read the other day and I thought I might give it a shot because it sounded like a nice thing to discuss and I also loved her answers so much that it made me wanna do the same.

So, without further ado, here’s how I choose my books:

1// Find a book on your shelves with a blue cover. What made you pick up that book in the first place?

p1I have picked up Beartown by Fredrik Backman because everyone has been talking about A Man Called Ove (that I have yet to read + they both have blue-ish covers) and I needed to get the rest of his books too. It has also been recommended to me a million time but now that it has been, I’m afraid to pick it up while having sky-high expectations. I’m afraid nothing’s gonna change that though… I hope I’ll get to pick them up soon.

2// Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

p2

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I usually don’t like romance in books. I find myself quite often go like “Ugh” and “Ew” and “Meh” whenever I read a book filled with romance but my dear Jane Austen has changed everything. And now, whenever I need a dose of romance, I go back to her.

3// Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick a book at random. How did you discover this book? 

p3

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I’ve discovered this book through Maxwell’s channel: welldonebooks.

4// Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

p4

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens and I absolutely loved it!

5// Pick a book you discovered through book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

p5

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas and sadly, no. BUT, I’m currently reading A Court of Mist and Fury and I’m enjoying it much much more so maybe it isn’t that bad after all!

6// Find a book on your shelves with a one word title. What drew you to this book?

p6

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. I had gone to the library and saw this big chunky book with black and white edges and I thought “Hm, interesting, let’s see what’s inside!” and I was sold! Loved the format and I really enjoyed the experience of reading the book! I’ve now started Gemina and I’m loving it so far!

 

7// What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

p7A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. I have never heard of this series before the Netflix adaptation came out. I know that a lot of people have read these books while younger and so my answer might seem like an odd one but believe me, I have never heard of that series while growing up. But then again I’ve heard of no series besides Harry Potter…

 

8// Think of your all-time favourite books. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

p8Am I supposed to make an all-time favourite books list? Oh my… I think I’ll better just tell you the story of how I came accross Harry Potter aka all-time favourite series!

I was never encouraged to read while growing up but I had this “weird” habit of reading and re-reading all the mini-required-reading-books the week before school started. I knew I loved stories! To my greatest surprise I have found out that the school I was going to for my 7th Grade had a library! I asked for a library card during my first day in and went to pick up the thickest book on the shelves: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. (There was Les Misérables too but I’ve read the first sentence and thought it was too hard.) So I took home the fifth book of the series, understood nothing and was really disappointed. I told the nice lady at the library the next day and she explained to my ignorant self that I needed to read the first book in the series and then move on to the others. And that is how I came to read the first six books in a few weeks (the seventh hadn’t come out yet, not in french), depriving myself of sleep.

And soo that’s it for this tag! I hope you enjoyed it and feel free to do it yourself if, like me, you thought that it might be fun for you to do!

Do any of these questions remind you of a certain book you’ve picked up? Or else, how do you choose your books?

Leave a Reply

