the weight of lies | review

Hellooo! ❤

I am finally back from weeks and weeks of exams and I’ve missed it all so much. It is so hard to give up on reading but I just had to, sadly. I took a few days to rest after the final exams because I’ve been surviving on 4 hours of sleep every night and sometimes even less which was very unusual for me. But now I am happy to have more time to read as it is finally summer holidays for me! 🎉🎊🎉🎊 I’m very very excited because… What better than to spend the whole day reading?

I am going to tackle my Netgalley TBR that got soooo messy especially that I had no reading done in a while. “The Weight of Lies” is a book that I’ve read for some time now but I couldn’t find the time to write a review and so I spent a few days skimming through it and making notes and the review is finally here! I hope you’ll enjoy it ❤

Image result for the weight of lies

Title: The Weight of Lies

Author: Emily Carpenter

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Publication date: June 6th, 2017

N° of pages: 379 pages

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

synopsis.png

In this gripping, atmospheric family drama, a young woman investigates the forty­-year­-old murder that inspired her mother’s bestselling novel, and uncovers devastating truths—and dangerous lies.

Reformed party girl Meg Ashley leads a life of privilege, thanks to a bestselling horror novel her mother wrote decades ago. But Meg knows that the glow of their very public life hides a darker reality of lies, manipulation, and the heartbreak of her own solitary childhood. Desperate to break free of her mother, Meg accepts a proposal to write a scandalous, tell-all memoir.

Digging into the past—and her mother’s cult classic—draws Meg to Bonny Island, Georgia, and an unusual woman said to be the inspiration for the book. At first island life seems idyllic, but as Meg starts to ask tough questions, disturbing revelations come to light…including some about her mother.

Soon Meg’s search leads her to question the facts of a decades-old murder. She’s warned to leave it alone, but as the lies pile up, Meg knows she’s getting close to finding a murderer. When her own life is threatened, Meg realizes the darkness found in her mother’s book is nothing compared to the chilling truth that lurks off the page.

thoughts.png

Rating | rating.pngrating.pngrating.pngrating.png

Review | I gotta admit! When I first started the book, I wasn’t really feeling it and I just kept going mainly because of all the hype. I was afraid I’d missed something along the way. After I finished the book, I was only going to give it a 3 out of 5 stars but then I decided to wait a little bit and think about my whole experience while reading it and it turned out to be that kind of book that haunts you even after reading it for a while. You don’t just close the book and move on. And that’s what made me reconsider and give it 4 stars instead. I know it doesn’t sound like a big change: 3 and 4 are pretty much the same but not for me. Illogical but let’s move on to more interesting stuff.

The reasons I didn’t like it at the beginning was that, first of all, at the beginning of each chapter, there’s an excerpt of “Kitten”, a book written by Frances Ashley, the mother of our main character Megan Ashley. It kind of annoyed me when I was still new to the characters. I kept mixing up Fay and Frances and I didn’t really know why these excerpts were at the beginning of each chapter. I didn’t understand how relevant they were and it kept going on for at least half the book. That’s when I finally started caring about those little passages. Still, I think they didn’t really work as well as they should have. Second, I did not like Megan. Rich and spoiled characters actually irritate me, may it be in the books that I read or the shows that I watch. Megan was no exception when I first got introduced to her. But, thankfully, it got better! She grew to be a genuine person and I couldn’t help but care about her along her journey. Basically, she started using her mind instead of just following whatever her hatred for her mother was telling her.

Overall, I thought that the plot was really nice and I enjoyed the creepy atmosphere that sets in once we move to Bonny Island where we meet Dorothy, the owner of the famous hotel where the events in “Kitten”, novel by Frances Ashley, supposedly happened. That really made me want to keep reading. The story takes lots of twists and turns and I as a person who usually manages to guess what’s going to happen, missed to do so when it came to “The Weight of Lies”. I really did not expect anything at all of what has happened. I had a few theories of course but all of them ended up being not exactly right which is a very positive thing. It reminded me a lot of Night Film with the whole Cult-thing going on. The book was also not just about the whole family drama! It surprisingly also ended up being a diverse read. “Surprisingly” only because I haven’t really read any diverse book in this genre. Which is a bad thing, I know, but I’m trying to remedy this and read more diversely. There are lots of passages in this book talking about Native American tribes and all the ugly things they had to endure along with all that was stolen from them. Of course, this was the first book yours truly has ever read about Indigenous people and I found myself quite ignorant about it which is probably why we need more and more diverse books. I’m looking forward to reading more about it! I would like to mention that I have not verified the veracity of all facts stated in the book (it is a work of fiction, after all) but over all, it still condemns the atrocities they had to go through + we have a main character that’s a person of color which is very refreshing and that’s what’s important.

The writing was pretty dense but it was still a quick read because, of course: Very captivating! I really liked being in the mind of our main character Megan Ashley and I loved seeing her decipher the mystery and morph into this very adventurous, mature and down to earth character. I did not care much about her and Koa though… I really do not enjoy romance so I might be an exception. I felt as if he was just there to add 1 sprinkle of romance but meh… All I had eyes for was this very badass Meg and her mother, Frances!

If anyone’s looking for a creepy, unsettling and very captivating read: this is your book! It might be a little bit hard to get into but it’s definitely worth it!

This book was provided to me by Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “the weight of lies | review

Leave a Reply

