Uncategorized

March+April Wrap-Up (Books)

Helloo! Finals prep is killing me. A few more days before we finally get rid of them! It’s the reason my reading has gone down down down… And I’m definitely not happy about it! I miss reading books without feeling guilty about “wasting” time.

Today I’ve decided to talk about all the books I’ve read in the past two months and the ones I am currently reading. I’ll make another post with the movies and the TV shows I’ve watched and enjoyed (or not!) too because I do regularly watch TV Shows and now I’ve started watching movies too, yaaay!

blogposts

This is the list of the books that I’ve managed to read during the past two months. Not much but I don’t think I could’ve managed to do better with my current situation. Sadly I also ended up with many disappointing books that kept getting me further into that reading slump. Now I know that there are a few four/five stars in the list but like one of them was a re-read (Pride and Prejudice <3) and another was an audiobook and pretty much all of the good books were read either at the beginning of March or at the end of April so I was left with okay content during the month. (The books by Tolstoy were really great though but I hold a grudge against them for not being bigger, way bigger. I wouldn’t have read ACOTAR if they hadn’t finished so fast).

  • The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan ⭐⭐
  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Letters to a Young Poet by Maria Rainer Rilke ⭐⭐⭐
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Family Happiness by Leo Tolstoy ⭐⭐⭐
  • A Confession by Leo Tolstoy ⭐⭐⭐
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ⭐
  • One for the Money by Janet Evanovich ⭐
  • Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham ⭐⭐⭐⭐

read.png

I’d recommend The Name of The Wind to everyone. If you haven’t read it yet, just go and do it! I think it was my first Adult Fantasy and I can’t recommend it enough! I’ve heard there is a sequel on the way so hopefully that will be soon enough! I read the Tolstoy novella (Family Happiness) and the essay (A Confession) mainly to get a taste of his writing before diving in War and Peace. I don’t know if you’d be interested but if you’re also planning to read it, maybe we can buddy read it?

I’ve talked about what I didn’t like about ACOTAR in a discussion you’ll find down below. I wouldn’t recommend someone who hasn’t read the book to read it but all in all I can tell you that I really didn’t like it and I gave it one star. It was petty and very disappointing but I’m still going to pick up ACOMAF because I’ve heard it gets much much better. I’ve already picked it up actually… I’m too curious, can’t help it!

About Gone Girl, I don’t think I’ve ever read something quite like it! I hated both main characters but it’s just crazy and creepy and I liked it very much! I’ve watched the movie straight after and I also liked it which is very surprising because usually I never am satisfied with adaptations. I was mind blown! If you haven’t read it, please do! I definitely want to read more by Gillian Flynn now. Letters to A Young Poet was very inspiring and motivating. It’s the kind of book with quotes you want to stick on your wall and look at them every morning. I really enjoyed it as it spoke to me in many instances. Here’s a passage that is really nice, I find:

Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day.

Rilke has a beautiful writing and this I also read to get a taste of the author’s writing. I wanted to read letters because I recently got two new Penpals and so I’m into letters ❤ (I loved getting letters, would recommend it too!)

I’ll skip One For The Money for the sole reason that I don’t think it’s worth anyone’s time. But if you want my full review, you can find it here. (Can you feel the resentment, lol?)

Last but not least, Talking as Fast as I Can was a really nice audiobook. If you’re a huge fan of Gilmore Girls, go for it! I’m not sure if you’d enjoy it just as much if you don’t know Lauren Graham from GG but you could go for it anyways. I personally love this woman and her narrating the book was just fantastic! ❤

MARCH.png

54

One For The Money – Janet Evanovitch

The Unseen World – Liz Moore

The Lover’s Dictionary – David Levithan

Brown Girl Dreaming – Jacqueline Woodson

55

Down The TBR Hole #1

Down The TBR Hole #2

5

The Unique Blogger Award

other

Discussion: Books vs. Ebooks

Wrap-Up: February

tbr

I didn’t buy many books this time around sadly and I doubt buying a textbook will count. That’s what made me go broke. A textbook, damn it! I got with it the Mistborn trilogy and as a lovely gift, I also got Le Compte de Monte-Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo in French) by Alexandre Dumas. Oh, and I also got Gemina! I almost forgot and yet, I can’t wait to read it!

haul4.png

I don’t really have a TBR ready for May since it’s (yup, I’m saying it again) finals time and so basically anything I read is great

And that’s it for the March+April Book Wrap Up! Do any of these books piqued your interest? Have you read any of these or perhaps are they already in your TBR? 

Leave a Reply

