REVIEW: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

This post should’ve been up yesterday but sadly, due to very crappy internet, I wasn’t able to publish the post but here it is now and I hope you’ll enjoy it. Y’all know how I took part in the #DiverseAThon 2.0. I have mentionned it in the post where I talked about my reading challenges for 2017 and Binti was in the list of books I wanted to read. Now I haven’t been precise about the books that I was going to pick up. I still don’t know what my next read will be but I’ve decided to read two books at once: the group read + whatever book in the TBR list that I felt like reading. (Update: I ended up picking A World Without You and I added to the list Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe which are both SO cool so far.) I don’t think I’ve read anything of this genre besides Illuminae (being in the space and all) but Binti’s MC is from the Himba people which, to be honest, I’ve only known through this book => Happy me.

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "binti book"BINTI ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Published September 22nd 2015 by Tor.com
 SYNOPSIS: Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher learning in the galaxy. But to accept the offer will mean giving up her place in her family to travel between the stars among strangers who do not share her ways or respect her customs. Oomza University has wronged the Meduse, and Binti’s stellar travel will bring her within their deadly reach. (more on Goodreads)
THOUGHTS: I somehow wanted to have a really quick read for the beginning of the DiverseAThon so as to be a bit motivated for what’s to come if that makes any sense. I haven’t done lots of readings after my exams so I really was looking forward to a good reading week and this book did not let me down. Also, the title of the book kinda captivated me. I really know nothing of Namibia’s history nor the various origins of the word “Binti” but to me, “Binti” in Arabic means Daughter so in a way, it intrigued me.
This novella begins with Binti secretly leaving her home in Namibia to go to the place where she thinks she’s meant to be: The Oomza University for really smart people in the galaxy. She runs away secretly because her family doesn’t really want her to go, thinking that something bad will happen to her and that the people in the University will take advantage of her, being the only one of her kind there. And also: “We Himba don’t travel. We stay put. Our ancestral land is life. Move away from it and you diminish.” Tragedy happens (what happens when you don’t listen to Mommy) and we’ll get to see a terrible massacre on the ship caused by the Meduse. They’ll kill so many people and get their revenge and that’s when things start to happen.
Now there’s a very interesting mix of the culture and beliefs of indigenous people with technology, something that you don’t always get to see in books and that the author describes so well. I have never heard of the author before but I’m definitely looking forward to reading something else by her. I find the setting to be beautiful and very original and imaginative. I also loved the fact that in the book, it was very natural to see a woman being a really brave and smart mathematician. And also the fact that she’s a Himba person makes it all the more beautiful especially because I felt like I’ve learned something of that particular tribe! I used to see pictures here and there but never knew their name and never knew that it was clay they used. And of course I did a little bit of research that made me know a little bit more which was very satisfying because learning about new cultures was my goal when I chose to read more diversely. Some details were really appreciated! Only, at times, I wished there was more to it. I know I wanted a book that was short but still, I wish there was more because I definitely think that with all of what’s in the story and of its potential, there could’ve been a novel instead of “just” a novella.
Still, it was a very satisfying read and I enjoyed it. Gave it a 3 and a half stars. Would recommend it to anyone who’s interested in Sci-Fi and wants to read something original. It holds a very beautiful message that everyone needs to hear so do not hesitate to pick this one up! Thanks for tagging along!
Let me know if you’ve read this book and enjoyed it or if you’re willing to. Also and since I wanted to read more books by the author, has anyone read books by Nnedi Okorafor? Do you have any recommendations?
3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

Leave a Reply

