Uncategorized

#BeatTheBacklist TBR

This will be just a quick post about the books I’m planning to read for the Beat The Backlist Challenge. I have talked about this challenge in my last post and long story short I’ve come across it and thought it would be the perfect thing to give me the right motivation to tackle the piles of books waiting to be read. I keep adding new books to the list so it sometimes happens that I forget about the books I’ve purchased a long time ago and I know I shouldn’t be neglecting them… Poor babies! If you’re interested to join, you can find all the information needed here (there’s a Hogwarts mini challenge too!!!).

I’m challenging myself to read at least 40 books and below’s the list that I have planned. I will keep updating the list whenever I read/review one of these books.

  1. The Crimson Petal and The White – Michel Faber
  2. The Girls – Emma Cline
  3. Elizabeth is Missing – Emma Healey
  4. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt
  5. The Girl on The Train – Paula Hawkins
  6. Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder
  7. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  8. American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis
  9. Less Than Zero – Bret Easton Ellis
  10. Rules of Attraction – Bret Easton Ellis
  11. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
  12. The World As I See It – Albert Einstein
  13. Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies – Jared Diamond
  14. And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie
  15. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  16. The Duff – Kody Keplinger
  17. Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
  18. The Fall – Albert Camus
  19. If I Stay – Gayle Forman
  20. The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  21. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  22. I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced – Nujood Ali
  23. Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi
  24. We Were Liars – E. Lockhart
  25. Runaway – Alice Munro
  26. The Center Cannot Hold – Elyn R. Saks
  27. Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne
  28. All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven
  29. The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness
  30. The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
  31. Beloved – Toni Morrison 
  32. Les Derniers Jours de Muhammad – Hela Ouardi
  33. How To Be A Woman – Caitlin Moran
  34. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  35. The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
  36. Night Film – Marisha Pessl
  37. This Savage Song – V.E.Schwab
  38. Salt to The Sea – Ruta Sepetys
  39. Cinder – Marissa Meyer
  40. The Martian – Andy Weir

I am currently reading Animal Farm and Beloved and will continue with Night Film and Salt To The Sea.

Do you also plan on reducing your TBR? Have you ever tried to do it before and how did it go?

4 thoughts on “#BeatTheBacklist TBR”

  1. Lowering the towering stack (*) of Mount TBR has been a goal for a few years now! Here’s to another attempt this year 🙂

    (* not a real stack. Would be bigger than my house!)

    Like

  2. I need to beat my backlist too 😦 Like for real and urgently. haha I didn’t join the challenge because I have a horrible book buying addiction and my reading habits are too sporadic, but I will do my best to read as many of my backlist books as possible.

    I see a lot of great books in your list – both classics and modern classics. Good luck!

    Like

    1. Oh, me too! I can also hardly keep up with any list I make at the beginning of the year but I’m trying haha!
      Yes, I’ve never been much of a classics reader but lately I seem to be in the mood for some. Thank you very much, to you too! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

