Uncategorized

ON READING CHALLENGES + #DIVERSEATHON

Hello! ❤

Now I know I’ve gone on a little rant about how I will not track my reading this year but this isn’t really about tracking more than it is planning. I’ve never been a big planner when it came to my reading which is -maybe- the reason why I have a huge pile of books that are waiting for me to read them. But between us, it ain’t my fault! They’re the ones who keep releasing books, pfft! And no, it’s not because I spend a good part of my time watching Booktube videos! Aaaanyways, I’m going to talk about the reading challenges I’m ready to take for 2017 and also talk a bit about the #DiverseAThon that will start next Sunday (22th) and will run through to the 29th of January. I am very excited about all of these and without further ado, let’s get started!

I want to start by talking about the challenge that I’ve already mentionned previously in my Reading Goals blog post which is: Read Harder which is hosted by Book Riot. You can find the list of tasks in here. What I like about it? Definitely the diversity and the new-to-me themes! There are some tasks concerning some themes I would’ve never thought myself thinking about, let alone reading about them. For example: Sports. I’m a couch potato, sadly and a book about sports will only make me feel miserable unless they’re talking about sports of the mind? Or any sport you can do while reading on a couch while sipping your tea? But I will try only because “New Year, New Me” and obviously, the challenge! Since I’m more of a “running person”, I chose to pick for this task “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” by Haruki Murakami. I will perhaps publish the list of the books I’m planning to read for the challenges so that you guys get more details.

The next challenge is Beat The Backlist. Now I’ve talked a few times about how I compulsively buy new books. Well that kinda makes me forget about some books that would’ve probably sued me for not taking care of them. Let’s go back to the challenge which, by the way, is hosted by NovelKnight and basically what you’ve got to do is read books that have been in your TBR for ages. What am I planning to read? I’ll go from oldest to newest books bought. And the first book would probably be Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman which I haven’t read in a very long time. I’m really excited about this one too because I really have to go through these books! What’s even cooler with this challenge is that there’s an optional mini challenge attached to it that has a points system! Argh, I love points. Can’t hide it! And here‘s the link to the mini challenge. Oh! And there are also readathon weekends planned! Real cool!

Aaaand last but not least: Read Diverse 2017! This shouldn’t come out as a surprise. I’m really interested in diversity and therefore I went on looking for challenges about diversity and #OwnVoices and found one that appealed to me. This challenge not only makes you read diverse but also makes you post diverse which, I find, is a great motivation to blog more especially that when it comes to diversity and marginalized categories of characters/authors…, I’m all the way in!

Now it’s the #DiverseAThon’s turn. It was created by  Christina Marie, Joce,  Monica, and Whitney. Aand will be joining Simon from SavidgeReads this round! Just like Read Diverse 2017, the goal is to read diverse (duh! right?). Good starter! There’s also a common read which happens to be one of my favourite books of 2016 and it is: “The Underground Railroad” by Colson Whitehead. I’ll definitely do a reread because I’m always psyched for readathons’ discussions. Now there’s a slight problem for the TBR! I’ve got so many books lined up, I don’t really know which ones I’ll pick for the DiverseAThon and I don’t know which one to start with! Well, probably the reread if I can’t make up my mind… Anyways, here’s the list of the books that I would like to read but that I won’t read entirely, of course. :

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour
Résultat de recherche d'images pour

Résultat de recherche d'images pour Résultat de recherche d'images pour

3 thoughts on “ON READING CHALLENGES + #DIVERSEATHON”

Leave a Reply

