Uncategorized

REVIEW: Bossypants by Tina Fey

Helloooo! It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything and that was because of my exams. Now I’ve finally got rid of them so I’m back to blogging and since I’ve just finished listening to the audiobook by Tina Fey, I thought: Why not a review? This is actually my second time reading it, well the first time I read the paper version and now I got to listen to the audiobook which was a lot lot better! I think I don’t ever wanna read a memoir in paper version after listening to this one and I’m saying this because I’ve had the same experience with “Yes Please” by Amy Poehler. I usually don’t like memoirs a lot, unless they’re about medicine, nutrition or mental health… But, this is Tina Fey (and Amy Poehler, I love them both)! She is very funny and her narration added to the awesomeness of it all.

bossypants_cover_tina_fey_-_200px

 BOSSYPANTS ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Published April 5th 2011 by Reagan Arthur Books
SYNOPSIS: Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV. She has seen both these dreams come true. Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy. (more on Goodreads).
THOUGHTS: So like all memoirs, it’s a collection of memories from Tina’s journey. Some people would find it bad that it’s not very personal and that it does not contain enough dark mysterious secrets. I find this great! I don’t like personal.
I’ve already read this book once, way before reading Amy Poehler’s book “Yes Please”. I actually discovered Amy through her and I got to watch Parks and Recreation after reading the book also which doesn’t make a lot of sense because there were loads of references about the show in her book but… Eh! Same goes for Bossypants! There are loads of references about SNL and 30 Rock and I’ve never watched one episode of SNL and only the first season of 30 Rock and that’s not because I did not like it but I’m kinda watching more than 30 shows at the moment so it gets kinda busy… Will go back to it.
As for SNL, I live in a place that doesn’t really get it soo! I still love Tina Fey though. I love her even more after listening to this audiobook which is why I’ll make it a priority to go through 30 Rock. I’ll probably give up some of the boring shows I watch just to kill time. She really sounds sassy and funny. Today I had a really long commute and I had the choice between Bossypants and Oranges are Not the Only Fruit. I chose what appeared to be the funniest. I really need funny after exams.
Tina Fey is a very good narrator and there’s a bit of everything in her book! What I like is that she’s a really confident person who’s not afraid to be who she is and I’ve loved the parts where she was answering some hate messages she received either about her jokes or her scar. Speaking of her scar, how do people notice it? I’ve never noticed it before listening to her speak about it. Maybe I need new prescriptions… I also liked the chapter where she described how a photoshoot’s supposed to be while emphasising on the time spent on make up only to make them look flawless. Doesn’t lie about the use of Photoshop either. She talks a lot about body image in her book and isn’t afraid to talk about people who looked down on her because she is a woman. One of the very very serious advices she gave: “So, my unsolicited advice to women in the workplace is this. When faced with sexism, or ageism, or lookism, or even really aggressive Buddhism, ask yourself the following question: “Is this person in between me and what I want to do?” If the answer is no, ignore it and move on. Your energy is better used doing your work and outpacing people that way. Then, when you’re in charge, don’t hire the people who were jerky to you.” Pretty awesome, right?
This book will make you wanna be friends with Tina Fey, a successful actress and businesswoman who enjoys both her career and family. She found her way and got a place in a world that was at the time male dominated (and still is? maybe). She’s fighting for her causes and doesn’t like being pushed around. She works hard and she may be the only person/stranger I’d like to hear talk about her husband and family (Reminder: I don’t enjoy personal, that’s why I don’t accept these tales from everyone).
All in all, if you’re looking for a read that will make you laugh: THIS! Of course not every page contains a laugh-out-loud joke but there are definitely many passages where you’ll laughing. This book is also somehow motivating if you’re still trying to find your voice and, of course, it’s FEY and she slay!
I’m glad that I’m back to blogging and I hope you’ve enjoyed this review! Let me know what you thought of Bossypants if you’ve read it and/or if you have any recommendation of funny memoirs like this one.
See ya! :* ❤
1 thought on “REVIEW: Bossypants by Tina Fey”

Leave a Reply

