2016 IN MATTERS OF BOOKS: Books That Disappointed Me

Hello! ❤

The books listed here will mainly be books that I got into with very high expectations and that ended up disappointing me. They are not the worst books ever nor the books that I didn’t like, they’re just the books that I felt kinda let me down, you know… I guess one should never have very high expectations but I’m sorry, I can’t help it, I get excited!

Image result for harry potter and the cursed child Image result for looking for alaskaImage result for paper towns
For “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child”, I think most people were quite disappointed by this book. It was more a fanfiction than anything else. Not that I’m saying that fanfictions are bad because there are some wonderful stories but you know, you have that feeling it’s written by a fan and there are some aspects of fandom and everything else so that didn’t really do it for me. Also, the characters! They weren’t well constructed and I didn’t find my very lovable Harry Potter characters, the ones we all knew before this book. Yes, I liked going back to the Harry Potter World but this book didn’t respect J.K.Rowling’s world and I found that quite disturbing and offsetting. So all in all, it is a fun read but not something that you’d compare to the Harry Potter saga. As for “Looking for Alaska” and “Paper Towns”, well… I can say that I’ve tried. I don’t feel like I can identify with the characters and there’s just something wrong with the boy who can’t fit in and then he falls in love with a very mysterious and beautiful/popular female character… Ugh! Doesn’t do it with me and I’m afraid it’s only going to be The Fault in Our Stars for me. As for “Romeo and Juliet”, I always found it kinda annoying but I’ve never read it. Now that I read it: Just as annoying. Yes, everything was so beautiful but the ending? All this build up and it ended with the death of both main characters. That’s so very tragic for me.
Image result for behind closed doors
Image result for romeo and juliet book Image result for anna and the french kiss“Anna and The French Kiss” might come off as a surprise because I know many people liked it and I just could not understand the hype. AT ALL! I found the plot and the characters to be so annoying, if not to say retarded. Maybe I should give it another try because I couldn’t even really finish it, I skimmed through the last third of the book. As for “Behind Closed Doors”, I picked it up thinking that it was the kind of book that keeps you at the edge of your seat but instead it was just all very predictable since the beginning for me and the main character, Grace, does nothing! I don’t like main characters that are very passive. It could’ve been so much better.

There aren’t many books that disappointed me this year and I think that maybe it’s because I stopped choosing random books just by looking at their covers (aesthetics people!) and I actually wait either for really interesting plots, reviews or someone that I really trust to recommend them for me. I’m thinking right now that maybe I should be doing a post about books that surprised me with their greatness but I guess it won’t be part of the 2016 In Matters of Books because I don’t think enough books “surprised” me. Well, there were many books that I loved, but usually I’d pick them knowing that I’ll be surprised.

Anyways, if you’ve read any of these books I’ve listed and loved them, feel free to tell me why do you think I’m wrong  and if you haven’t, what books have disappointed you and let you down?

3 thoughts on “2016 IN MATTERS OF BOOKS: Books That Disappointed Me

  1. Jess @ JBelkBooks says:

    Aww, I’m really sorry you didn’t enjoy LFA and Paper Towns! LFA is actually one of my favorite books, but I can understand why you wouldn’t enjoy it — the inability to relate to characters is always a negative. As for Anna & The French Kiss, I haven’t read the trilogy yet, but I’ve heard mostly mixed things. I hope you had books that didn’t disappoint you this 2016 (?) Great post & Happy New Year! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

    • booksaccino says:

      Lots of people have enjoyed the rest of John Green’s books. For me, it’s still just The Fault in Our Stars. As for Anna & The French Kiss, I usually don’t like female leads that are there just to be naive and “cute” and whine a lot and that was the case in the first book. The only thing I found to be great was Paris because I love the city and the descriptions were nicely done.

      I’ve had lots of favorites during 2016, especially in the second half where I chose my books more carefully haha!

      Thank you very much Jess! Happy New Year to you too even if it’s kind of delayed!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jess @ JBelkBooks says:

        Oooh, okay. I haven’t read Anna & The French Kiss yet, but I’ll keep that in mind. I feel like if that is the case, I definitely won’t enjoy it as much as most people do..but I do like Paris! xD

        You’re very welcome!! Happy Reading (:

        -Jess @jbelkbooks

        Like

Leave a Reply

