2016 IN MATTERS OF BOOKS: Books I Loved

Hello everyone! ❤

I hope you’re all doing okay and that you’re enjoying your holidays (if you have any at the moment)! It’s time to go back through all the books read in 2016 and reveal the compilation of my favorite reads. I still don’t really know which books I’m going to choose because I have so many titles pop in my head right now but we’re talking favourites, not the whole list, which is kinda stressful. Narrowing down the favorites of the year has always been stressful, let’s be honest here.

2016 has been pretty good for me in matters of books. Even though I’ve practically read the same number of books this year (or actually less, 93 as opposed to 94) as I did last year, the content I find richer and better and longer too! (I might have read more than 93 because I don’t add all books to Goodreads, will update later) Now big bricks don’t scare me as much as they used to, which is a very good thing for me because as soon as I finished Harry Potter, I was very reluctant when it came to big books because I didn’t feel like any book could make me as committed as I was with Harry Potter. I know that 93 might not be a big number but I’ve decided not to really care anymore :P. Yes, I was always very excited to set up a new Goodreads challenge but I don’t think I’ll be doing that for 2017. That’s a topic for another day though, now we are going to get down to business!

2016 in matters of books will be a series of posts where I’ll talk about the books I loved, the books that disappointed me and the wrap up of my 2016 reading goals. Oh, and just to mention it: The books listed here are not all published in 2016 and are in no particular order because I don’t make favorites with books I love.

16 BEST BOOKS OF 2016

Homegoing – Yaa Gyasi

The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead

You – Caroline Kepnes

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

one

Milk & Honey – Rupi Kaur

The Essex Serpent – Sarah Perry

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman

Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Two.png

The Vegetarian – Han Kang

When Breath Becomes Air – Paul Kalanithi

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

Three.png

The Shadow Of The Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Ruby – Cynthia Bond

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman + Jay Kristoff

Between The World and Me – Ta-Nehisi Coates

four.png

 And that’s it for the favourites of 2016. The books I’ve reviewed on the blog were linked to the blog posts and those I didn’t to Goodreads. Sadly, I haven’t done much reviewing of the books I’ve loved and that’s mainly because most of the books I’ve really enjoyed (8 books) were read during the last of November and December so I’ll probably review them later on when I’ll finish with my exams that are taking all of my time right now.

Overall I’m really happy about my reading this year and some books I’ve read completely changed my views on some genres. Now I’m reading more Non-Fiction, more Poetry (I’m currently reading Elizabeth Bishop’s Poems that I’m really enjoying), more Adult, more Fantasy and Sci-Fi and I really appreciate the “change”. I also became more picky which is why I’ll probably change my rating system because I gave lots of 5 stars to books that don’t really deserve 5 stars…

Anyways, that’s it, 16 favorites chosen for 2016. Have you read any of these? If not, what’s on your list? 🙂

Leave a Reply

