#TTT (on a Wednesday): Top 10 Favorite Movies

Now who’s been bad at blogging? Me! I have forgotten to publish this post yesterday but I thought it would be a shame not posting it. It could either be a Top Ten Tuesday or just a Top Ten to share with you some of my favorite movies, right? I’m trying to be as consistent as possible with my busy schedule. I’ll start scheduling posts more because I’ve only just realized it was possible.

Before going into what this post is about, I want to thank Fadwa from @Wordwoonders for the shoutout and the support and everything really. Thank you so much for tagging me ❤  ! I was also very surprised frankly to see a fellow moroccan medstudent in the Blogosphere, and one that is doing really great as a matter of fact!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this week’s prompt is : Top 10 Favorite Movies which is perfect because, as I said earlier, now I can talk movies with you guys! And I think I should be doing this more frequently as I am watching loads and loads of tv shows and movies. Loads! You might find my taste a bit odd though. But is it really? I’ve just been told so quite a lot because as a 19/20 year old, I should be watching more “modern stuff”.

 Through A Glass Darkly – Ingmar Bergman’s movies are top notch. It’s pretty impressive how he can make so much out of so little. This is one of those movies that make you think after watching it. The kind of movie that leaves you with lots of existential questions. The shots, the scenery… Everything’s been perfectly set to create a rather dark ambiance. The tension just kept building up throughout the movie and it’ll all lead to one last concluding scene that will make everything clearer. Mind blown. Bergman just knows how. His actors also make up for a great performance so, to summarize a bit : Thought provoking with a great theme and genuine performance.

Image result for the silence of the lambs The Silence of The Lambs – This one is pretty popular because, well, Anthony Hopkins, Jodie Foster… But not only that, it’s also a very well executed detective story. One that tells you more about the psychology of each character and again, that’s what I like in movies, and in books too (I have yet to read the book that the movie was based on). When the spotlight is on the psychology of the characters and when they dig deep into it without really making it so obvious, leaving some sort of image that keeps getting clearer about who they really are, that’s what I like, if it makes any sense. Jonathan Demme managed to make the best out of the major scenes and Anthony Hopkins as Dr. Hannibal Lecter is just magnificent. His eyes are so hypnotic, perfect for the role, gives you the chills!

Image result for rosemary's baby

Rosemary’s Baby – This is one of the scariest movies that I’ve seen. What’s special about it though is that I don’t even like scary movies but this one somewhat made it. Now that I’m thinking about it, it’s probably because it’s so simple. There are no bloody messes or crazy “horror” stuff in it. It’s completely realistic! Again, fantastic acting! I’m not going to talk about what to expect so as not to spoil it but it’s a really great piece and a classic. It deals with satanistic cults and for me, is the best movie by Polanski. If you haven’t watched it already, I recommend it very highly but not very late at night.

Image result for touki bouki

Touki Bouki – Cinema isn’t just Hollywood and Europe. There’s more to it than just that. I’ve watched the movie initially because I thought I was mainly watching american movies and to my surprise, I’ve really liked this one. This was a proof to me that being exposed to a different style of filming isn’t always bad. The main message of the film I think is how colonialism has teared Senegal apart, creating different social classes and everything. The two main characters aren’t happy with the post-colonial state of Senegal so they decide to go far far away from it. What makes this special is the editing, the visuals and the music. It’s all so special!

Image result for 3 Women

3 Women – This movie is a dream. The strange nature of identity is what it’s dealing with. It’s a bit confusing and bizarre and not everybody might like it. It shows that an ending isn’t really a necessity for a movie to make sense, it shows that some things are better left to the viewer’s experience since the messages are pretty vague and open to interpretation so each and everyone can get a different read out of it. You might even get a different read or feel more of its brilliance a second, third or fourth viewing.


Image result for 2001 space odyssey2001: A Space Odyssey
– I think everything has already been said about this so very popular masterpiece that inspired so many movies of its genre.Can’t even begin to explain how much this movie is great frankly and I’m sure this won’t ever do justice to what the movie really is. I was going through lots of classics this summer and I was a bit surprised I’ve never watched this one and that’s because I’ve watched all of Stanley Kubrick’s movies (I’m fighting the urge to add them all to this list but it would no longer be just 10 movies then). The technical aspects are wonderful and each shot comes with its magic. This movie is about evolution and humanity’s “next step” basically and Kubrick takes you into a trip of magnificent visuals and photographies with deep meanings if the details are being taken into account. I can’t recommend this one enough.

Image result for psycho

Psycho – Just like Rosemary’s Baby, this is a realistic horror movie that comes to us confronting us with our own daily life fears. The black and white cinematography plays a nice role in this one also in addition to the lighting, the music and the camerawork. The movie’s so full with suspense and terror and it just keeps you alerted, at the edge of your seat just looking forward to seeing what’s to come next while feeling deeply involved in the movie. Make sure to give it a shot and pay close attention to all the details (because it’s always about the details, right?) if you haven’t watched it yet.


Image result for mary poppins Mary Poppins
– I think this one is fairly popular. Julie Andrews is wonderful as super nanny and she’s so sweet and perfect for the “motherly” character she’s playing : Mary! I have literally fallen in love with the actress after watching it (those freckles!! <3). Maybe some of you have watched it as a child, I did some months ago. I never really watched movies before. Anyways, this movie holds a very sweet message and just like every Disney movie, it is magical! It is very enthusiastic and sentimental. It mixes fantasy, animation and it’s really amusing and enchanting! These are the words I would use describing this movie.

Image result for pierrot le fou Pierrot Le Fou + Vivre Sa Vie – Two movies Image result for vivre sa vie posterby Jean-Luc Godard! I’ve never really liked french movies because … Well I don’t really know why but the french movies I’ve watched didn’t really appeal to me. For these two though, and for the rest of Godard’s movies, I fell in love! He adds his own touch in his movies which is what I like and that’s generally what makes me look into film directors and so on because sadly, I don’t care most of the times… Sadly! Again here, you get to meet beautiful cinematography and shots, great themes and scripts and this all makes up for two wonderful movies. If you want to dive in french cinema, look these two up!

Now I’m probably the worst in describing movies and what I like about them but what I can tell you is that these movies are gems to me. Maybe they’re just the movies that popped into my head when I saw “Top 10”. Maybe it’s not really the Top 10. Actually, it can’t be a Top 10 because if it was I would’ve had a Panic Attack just deciding which movie to put in the list. I have so many favourites! I hope you liked this selection and I hope you don’t mind that my post is one day late haha. Let me know if you have watched any of these movies and liked them or just let me know about some of your personal favorites that you would recommend!

3 thoughts on “#TTT (on a Wednesday): Top 10 Favorite Movies

  1. Geronimo Reads says:

    I love Mary Poppins! I grew up watching it because it’s my mama’s favorite movie. 🙂 I’ve had 2001: A Space Odyssey in my queue on Netflix for ages, but haven’t gotten around to it! The length of the movie intimidates me a bit.

    Like

    • booksaccino says:

      Haha riiight? It’s so sweet and has a lot of charm! I can understand how it can be a favorite.
      As for 2001: A Space Odyssey, yes, it’s a bit lengthy but if you like Science Fiction and all which is related to the “technicalities” of cinematography, then definitely give it a try because it truly is a masterpiece!

      Like

Leave a Reply

