Uncategorized

How I Met Poetry

Is it too late to post an entry about the books I’ve read in October? Am I a terrible blogger? I really don’t know but I’m still really excited to share with you the books that I’ve read (14 in total). Before that though, let me share with you the story of how I met “Poetry”, my new friend and perhaps my eventually-best-friend.

During the last bit of October, I tried to read as much poetry as possible. I was sitting one day at work, soooo bored so I thought I’d check Wikisource’s poetry content and that’s how I came accross “A dream within a dream” and : I fell in love. After it, came “Eulalie”, “A dream”, “Annabel Lee”, “The Raven” and so on… All of these poems were by the famous Edgar Allan Poe, which I have only known by name until then (extremely sad, i know). The next day, I was still hesitant about poetry. Not that I didn’t love it. I just thought “Maybe I was just lucky finding bits of poetry that I understood and really enjoyed. After all, you had to be one of these very special people who understood and felt the intensity of poetry. Duh!” and sadly, I didn’t feel like being part of that special club. BUT, I wanted to feel again that connection I had with words while reading Poe’s poems. I went on the Internet and looked for other poets to see if poetry was really my thing or if it was just Poe’s writing and that I should go on and read his short stories and abandon the concept of “Normal People Like Me Understanding Poetry”. That’s how I came across Modern Poetry : Poems written at my time with no archaic words that would let me wonder about their meanings because english is not my first language and I’m too lazy to look up words in the dictionary. As to not make this any longer, I’ll go through the poetry books that I’ve read accompanied each with a little review.

A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver

Aside from some poems, it wasn’t something that reall41nq4vzrdql-_sx325_bo1204203200_y hit me hard or spoke to me. My six favorite poems were “Three Things to Remember”, “Hurricane”, “I Have Decided”, “The Gardener”, “The Poet Compares Human Nature To The Ocean From Which We Came” and “I Go Down to the Shore”. Six poems, that’s a lot of poems to say that I did not like Oliver’s writing. On the contrary! It was the first poetry book that I’ve entirely finished and It is extremely beautiful, it just didn’t hit me as hard as the other books which is why I gave it only a 3 out of 5 stars.  Mary Oliver’s poems speak a lot about nature and some poems stood out with pretty clear messages and those were the ones I liked most. I definitely want to read more of Mary Oliver’s poems because apparently there’s more to her than just “A Thousand Mornings”. To sum up, some of it was dull and some of it was extremely good to the point of making you pause and be dazed.

Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav

Heartbreaking. Heartwarming. Lang Leav has such a wonderful way with words… I don’t know if I just happened to read it in a time where it spoke to me in such a way that it left me deeply touched by it or if it’s just really great poetry. This proved to me that poetry doesn’t need to be complex, it just needs the right words at the right place. Also, that poetry doesn’t need rhymes, the musicality of it will come either way. Lang Leav… Argh! Her poems are all just so relatable, they speak to you. I just can’t find words that are good enough to describe this book and everytime I think of it, my thoughts and feelings are all over the place and I just feel overwhelmed. It spoke of many aspects of love and personally, whenever I think “Love”, I can’t put my finger on the range of emotions that come out from it and I definitely cannot describe them as well as Lang Leav does in this collection of poems. Would definitely recommend this for someone who’s just starting out in poetry or someone who’s still not ready to dive in the complex world of Emily Dickison or William Shakespeare’s poetry.

Lullabies by Lang Leav (yes, again!)

I read “Love & Misadventure” in one sitting. And right after I finished it, all I was thinking was : “I need more! I need more!”. So I went ahead and checked Lang Leav’s Tumblr and that’s when I realized that there was a second book! And a third! Again, just like “Love & Misadventure”, it is a book that you can relate to and find yourself into it. Some people might find it cheesy, a bit cliché and childish butpoetry is to be experienced, so each how he will feel about a poem. Each his thing basically. I admit that I’ve liked this one a bit less than the first because some poems felt out of place (??) but overall it is a great collection of poems because of Leav’s easiness with words and how she writes in a succinct way that doesn’t try to hide messages between the lines. It just hits you hard, softly. If that makes any sense.

I was a bit anxious about my first post because, well, It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything in English and it’s a “First” post sooo… That’s it for How I Met Poetry! I wish I had more to say but I’m looking forward to discovering the world of poems and learn about how powerful words can get in such a brief text.

Let me know about your thoughts on these books or other poetry books that appealed to you and that you’ve liked! I hope you enjoyed tagging along!

4 thoughts on “How I Met Poetry”

Leave a Reply

